Additive Manufacturing Users Group announces new board

The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) has announced appointments for 2019-2020 board. The board’s primary responsibilities will be to build and oversee the 2020 AMUG Conference and develop a better organizational structure to support the annual event.

The nine member board is comprised of both elected and appointed positions, and each board member serves as an officer of the organization. 

Founded in the early 1990s AMUG educates and supports users of all additive manufacturing technologies, hosting an annual conference to provide this education and training through technical presentations on processes and new technologies. Members include Stratasys, DSM, SLM Solutions, EOS, GE Additive, ExOne, BASF, Renishaw, Carbon, HP, Additive Industries, Formlabs, and 3D Systems.

Attendees are welcomed to the St. Louis Union Station Hotel for the 2018 AMUG Conference. Photo by Michael Petch.

A new president of the AMUG

Carl Dekker of Met-L-Flo, who has served two terms as vice president, will now take on the role of president, replacing Paul Bates of UL, who has decided not to run for re-election after serving two terms.  

Commenting on the announcement, Carl Dekker said, “I am excited to be AMUG’s 2020 president. We have an excellent and experienced team leading us on the path to the next event.”

Adding, “The recent growth of AMUG has been astounding! This brings many challenges, which I am pleased to say the new AMUG Board is being very proactive in addressing.”

Dekker also expressed gratitude for Mark Barfoot’s years of service. Barfoot, who is stepping down from past president, has served nine consecutive terms in roles that included vice president and president.

Andrew Allshorn of At 3D-Squared, who has served as an AMUG global ambassador, was elected for the vice president position, previously held by Dekker.

Three incumbents sought reelection and retained their positions. Jamie Cone of BD will serve a third term as vice-president, and Leslie Frost of GE Additive will serve a second term as secretary. In his twenty-sixth term, Thomas Sorovetz of FCA will once again serve as AMUG’s event manager.

The board was elected by AMUG’s members during the most recent annual conference, held in Chicago, Illinois. Candidates for the appointed positions of chairman, treasurer, and AM industry advisor were proposed and accepted by the elected officers. Filling these positions are Gary Rabinovitz (chairman), Vince Anewenter (treasurer), and Todd Grimm (AM industry advisor).

Preparing for the AMUG conference 

The board’s responsibilities will include building the program for the 2020 conference, soliciting support from businesses in the additive manufacturing industry, and overseeing the event’s day-to-day activities. 

The five-day conference will include a two-night exhibitor expo, hands-on workshops, training labs, instructional sessions, technical presentations, and an off-site dinner. 

Earlier this year we conducted interviews with several of the keynote speakers about their expectations, insights and reasons for attending AMUG 2019.

The 2019- 2020 AMUG Board members

 * President: Carl Dekker, Met-L-Flo

 * Past President: Paul Bates, UL

 * Vice President: Jamie Cone, BD

 * Vice President: Andrew Allshorn, At 3D-Squared

 * Event Manager: Tom Sorovetz, FCA

 * Secretary: Leslie Frost, GE Additive

 * Chairman: Gary Rabinovitz, Reebok

 * Treasurer: Vince Anewenter, Milwaukee School of Engineering

 * AM Industry Advisor: Todd Grimm, T. A. Grimm & Associates

The 2020 AMUG Conference will be held in Chicago, Illinois, from March 22 -26.

More information about AMUG 2020 and the full conference program can be found here.

Subscribe to the 3D Printing Industry newsletter and follow us on Facebook and Twitter for the latest news in additive manufacturing.

Visit our 3D Printing Jobs board to find new opportunities in the 3D printing industry. 

Featured image shows the 2019-2020 AMUG board. Photo via AMUG.